Windows 8 Refresh Your PC option could delete your Outlook profile

Microsoft has warned that using the Windows 8 Refresh Your PC option may delete your Outlook profile, on a device that is using Windows 8 or Windows RT.

outlook-2013

The Refresh Your PC option in Windows 8 gives you an easy option to restart fresh while retaining all of your documents, accounts, personal settings, and even the apps you’ve downloaded from the Windows Store.

Now even if users were to opt for the Refresh Your PC without affecting your files option in Windows 8 and Windows RT they may find that their Outlook profile is deleted, and the data files are deleted or moved as well!

Re-create Outlook profile & import Outlook Data

In the eventuality that you face this problem, you will have to manually re-create your Outlook profile and then import the Outlook Data (.pst) file or files from the following locations:

  • C:\Users\UserName\Documents\Outlook Files
  • C:\Windows.old\Users\UserName\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Outlook

Microsoft has also released a knowledge based article KB2872888 that is meant to guide users on this issue on how to go about re-creating the Outlook profile and data manually.

Posted by with Tags
Anand Khanse is the Admin of TheWindowsClub.com and a 10-year Microsoft MVP Awardee in Windows for the period 2006-16. He enjoys following and reporting Microsoft news and developments in the world of Personal Computing & Social Media.