Last year in October 2018, Google Plus’s (Google+’s) data was leaked and about 500,000 Profile were affected by this leak. Google acknowledged this issue and announced that they will soon be shutting down Google+. Later, another bug was detected that could result in risking data of about 52.5 Million users. The shutdown timeline has been released by Google.
Shutdown timeline for Google+ for Consumers
On April 2nd, your Google+ account and any Google+ pages you created will be shut down and we will begin deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts. Photos and videos from Google+ in your Album Archive and your Google+ pages will also be deleted. You can download and save your content, just make sure to do so before April. Note that photos and videos backed up in Google Photos will not be deleted, said Google.
The Timeline of the shutdown process is as follows.
- By February 4, people will not be able to create new Google+ Profile pages, communities or events.
- The comments made using Google+ on Blogger will be removed starting March 7th and on all other websites, it will be removed by April 2nd.
- The Google+ sign in buttons will stop working in a few weeks and in some cases, it will be replaced with the Google Sign in button.
- Starting March 2019, Google+ community owners and moderators who are downloading data from their communities will gain additional data for downloading. This includes components like the Author, body, and photos for every community post in a public community,
- And finally, on April 2nd, all the Google+ accounts, photos, videos, and other content will be started to be deleted. However, Photos and Videos backed up on Google Chrome will not be deleted.
But if you’re a G Suite customer, Google+ for your G Suite account should remain active. You can also expect a new look and new features soon.