recently announced a new policy for accounts that exceed the initial 15GB storage limit across services, including Google Photos. As a result, the company will stop providing Photos users with unlimited high-quality storage starting June 1, 2021. Active Google accounts exceeding the 15GB storage limit will need to purchase additional storage to store more photos and media.
Google accounts inactive for 2 years risk losing their data
Now, Google is also making some policy changes to inactive accounts. As a result, Google accounts inactive for more than two years will risk losing their data.
If you are inactive in certain Google products for two years, Google may delete particular products’ content. For example, if you haven’t used Gmail for two years, Google may free up your inbox.
Google may also delete your content across Gmail, Drive, and Photos in you continue to exceed your storage limit for two years. By introducing these policies, Google hopes to increase the number of Google One subscribers and user-engagement with its products and services.
“We will notify you multiple times before we attempt to remove any content so you have ample opportunities to take action. The simplest way to keep your account active is to periodically visit Gmail, Drive or Photos on the web or mobile, while signed in and connected to the internet,” Google said.
How to manage content in inactive Google products?
Google has something called the Inactive Account Manager to help users manage specific content and notify a trusted contact if you stop using your Google Account for a certain period, usually between 3 and 18 months.
“Note that the new two year inactive policy will apply regardless of your Inactive Account Manager settings,” Google added.
You can use Google One’s free storage manager to manage your Google Account storage. You can see how you are using your storage across Gmail, Drive, and Photos. Plus, you can also keep the files you want, delete the ones you no longer need, and make room for more.